Take the 2-minute tour ×
Musical Practice & Performance Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for musicians, students, and enthusiasts. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the first measure from this section of Schubert's Serenade, does the accidental on the ornamental C at the beginning affect the "regular" C that follows?

excerpt from serenade Schubert

share|improve this question
2  
What if it did not? Then you'd have a triplet with C-B#-C, fingered 3-2-3. Wouldn't that be a bit weird? –  Gauthier Mar 12 '12 at 15:52
    
It would not be that weird because sometimes you can alternate fingers on the same note. –  iddober Mar 12 '12 at 16:32
1  
I'm with you fir the fingering. But not noting C-B#-C (although it could be defended for matching the harmony, but not in this case). –  Gauthier Mar 12 '12 at 17:07
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

Yes it does affect it. The accidental always remains in effect for the remainder of that measure. However, if the two notes are of different octaves, the first accidental does not change the latter notes. If a G5 is sharped, for example, all remaining G5's of the measure will be sharped. G4's, G6's or G's of any other octave will be left natural. A natural sign has the same rules as any other accidental.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.