2

First time using audacity in years. I downloaded the latest version, imported a 2GB audio file, and when I "save as" the project, it saves the audio in the project folder, so that the project is around 2gb.

I recall there used to be an option to reference the audio at the location you open it from, so that the project directory is much smaller. Since I save my source files and the project, I can't afford the space of storing the audio effectively twice.

I can't find the option to do this any more, or anything in the online manual or searching google. Is this still possible?

Thanks.

0

I did not try, but on import you can choose not to make a copy of the audio file (see Importing Uncompressed Audio Files) but to read them directly on the original file. I did not test, but I would say that if you open your file this way, it should not be saved as a copy in your project upon saving.

Hope it helps,

5
  • Thanks for this- I recall this dialog from last time I used Audacity, but I do not seem to get it on a fresh install of 2.4.2. – clearedPerson Dec 7 '20 at 15:53
  • @clearedPerson maybe check the preferences? – Tom Dec 7 '20 at 16:06
  • Nothing about importing in the preferences, and all dialogs/warnings are still enabled. I'm hoping this options wasn't removed but I can't find any indication it exists anymore... – clearedPerson Dec 7 '20 at 17:47
  • @clearedPerson Arf... Hope you will find a solution! – Tom Dec 7 '20 at 17:56
  • @clearedPerson It looks like the option was removed. – PiedPiper Dec 7 '20 at 18:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.