11

In the first measure from this section of Schubert's Serenade, does the accidental on the ornamental C at the beginning affect the "regular" C that follows? And is that answer applicable to all ornaments?

excerpt from serenade Schubert

3
  • 2
    What if it did not? Then you'd have a triplet with C-B#-C, fingered 3-2-3. Wouldn't that be a bit weird?
    – Gauthier
    Mar 12 '12 at 15:52
  • It would not be that weird because sometimes you can alternate fingers on the same note.
    – iddober
    Mar 12 '12 at 16:32
  • 1
    I'm with you fir the fingering. But not noting C-B#-C (although it could be defended for matching the harmony, but not in this case).
    – Gauthier
    Mar 12 '12 at 17:07
12

Yes it does affect it, both in this specific case and also for any ornament notated within the staff. The accidental always remains in effect for the remainder of that measure. However, if the two notes are of different octaves, the first accidental does not change the latter notes. If a G5 is sharped, for example, all remaining G5's of the measure will be sharped. G4's, G6's or G's of any other octave will be left natural. A natural sign has the same rules as any other accidental.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.