assuming that the quarter is one beat, how many beats is the circled part?
Thank you for your help
A dotted eighth note plus a sixteenth note equal one quarter note.
assuming that the quarter is one beat
The circled part is one beat.
1 quarter note = 2 eighth notes 1 eighth note = 2 sixteenth notes
A dot next to a note represents increasing by one half the value of the dotted note.
A dot next to an eighth note is worth 1/2 the eighth note, a sixteenth note.
So your circle figure is...
An eighth note + a sixteenth note valued dot + a sixteenth note = 1 quarter note.
So I’ve been searching more than 10 minutes but I didn’t find a really smart explanation!
The most intuitiv picture is the following:
Here in this example are 2 beats of quaters in one bar. You see that the time is 2/4.
2/4 are corresponding to 4/8 or 8/16
in bar 1 we have 4/8 (1/8 rest, 1/8 with a flag and 2/8 tied with beam.
in bar 2 we have a dotted eighth note and a 16th with a beam like in your example and 4 16th with a beam.
The dotted eighth note has the value of 3 sixteenth notes. (This wants to show the red circle round the 3 sixteenths of the next group.) Together with the last sixteenth note we have 4/16 = 1/4 = 1 beat. So the motif in your question is one beat.
In the next picture with a 4/4 time we can see that all groups of beamed notes
(except the eight notes in the 1. bar of the last line) are one beat
Assuming you know the length of an eighth and the length of a sixteenth what you need to know is what the dot does.
A dot takes the length of the note and adds half of that to it. So a dotted eighth is like an eighth plus a sixteenth. So the dotted eighth last the same as three sixteenths.
The second part is a sixteenth.
If you were counting that beat as 6 E & A (I assume this is in 6/4) The notes would fall on 6 and A.
6 E & a
The answer is one.
It would also help, Angela, to really look at and think about @John Does' brilliantly-placed comment (after all, it helpfully assigns an arbitrary name to how we internalize duration). It is the most correct of all.
We can declare 'note gets one beat', but everything else like counts, (or how we mindfully index the notation') is up to us: the player. In other words, are we subdividing correctly?
Thanks for posting your question, it's entirely on-topic.